豆腐常見問答集

所有您需要了解關於我們豆品的一切!

大豆與您的健康

人們為什麼食用豆腐與豆奶?

兩個食用豆腐與豆奶的最常見原因是乳糖不耐症,以及作為蛋白質代替品。 北美對豆品愈來愈感興趣 – 有很好的理由。研究表明,亞洲國家(食用豆腐與豆奶較多的地方)的人們患乳腺癌、前列腺癌、心臟疾病與骨質疏鬆症的幾率更低;大豆中發現的植物化學物質或異黃酮被認為起到預防疾病的作用。另外,更年期亞洲女性的麻煩症狀往往比西方女性少。

好處

在這個流行的乳製品與肉類的替代品中還發現了營養物質,如鈣質。例如,頂好豆腐的亞洲經典豆腐產品提供高達 60% 的鈣質每日推薦攝入量 (RDI)。而且您是否知道一杯頂好純豆飲品*僅含有 1 克脂肪、60 卡路里與 15% 的鈣質每日推薦攝入量(165 毫克)?相比之下,領先的國家品牌的非強化純豆奶所含的鈣質每日推薦攝入量低於 2%(20 毫克),幾乎 1/3 以上是卡路里與脂肪! (81 卡路里與 3.8 克脂肪)

*加拿大標籤法規禁止非乳製品在包裝上顯示 「奶」字樣。

蛋白質替代品

豆腐往往比動物蛋白更容易為人體消化,並因此成為嬰兒、老年人以及存在消化問題的人的良好蛋白質源。作為獨特高品質的蛋白質源,豆腐價格便宜,並且為人體提供蛋白質、鈣與鐵。雖然所有的動物蛋白質都含有膽固醇,紅肉飽和脂肪(或壞脂肪)很高,但豆腐卡路里、飽和脂肪與鈉相對較低,而且完全不含膽固醇。用豆腐替代動物脂肪從長遠來看是有益的,因為有研究表明食用動物脂肪與膽固醇與心臟疾病之間存在相關性。

若我想獲得其健康益處,應食用多少大豆?

奇蹟食物是不存在的。雖然有證據表明豆品可能具有預防疾病的特性,但也要考慮其他因素,例如一個人的病史、年齡、運動、一般健康狀況與飲食。然而作為一般準則,美國食品及藥物管理局建議每天食用 17-25 克大豆蛋白,保持低脂肪飲食,以降低血液中的膽固醇水平並預防心臟疾病。

在我的飲食中是否有可能食用過多的大豆?

適度是生活中一切的關鍵。就像有些人對部分奶製品敏感,食用後會發生腹脹與胃氣,其他人可能會對大量食用大豆過敏。症狀若乳糖不耐症,並且如果減少或停止食用大豆,症狀會消失。您自己做判斷。如同其他事物一樣,開始時慢慢來。

頂好豆腐的豆品使用什麽樣的大豆製作?

頂好豆腐的所有產品皆只用加拿大種植的非基因改造上品大豆。所有提供的大豆皆配備非基因改造產品的認證。我們也有一個有機豆腐製品生產線,使用經過認證的有機大豆並配備來自獨立機構的認證。

豆奶中的薄皮是什麽?

不用擔心。事實上這很有營養價值。

在市場上「全天然」豆品中,頂好豆腐的產品始終提供最佳的營養價值。這得益於我們獨特的工藝與製作過程,可以讓我們從使用的高品質大豆中萃取最多的營養物質。

當然,我們只用加拿大種植的、認證為非基因改造的 A 級大豆。大豆的批次可能略有不同,因此,有時在豆奶的生產過程中,高溫下加熱的蛋白質可能釋放出一層薄皮,也稱為豆奶皮。這層薄皮只隨機出現在我們的普通低脂肪與有機瓶裝豆奶中。

豆奶皮不僅可食用,而且營養價值高。被稱為豆腐、腐皮或者腐竹,豆奶皮的副產品通常會被乾燥成片。乾燥豆奶皮常用於中國與日本料理,如在點心中作為包裹物或在素菜中模仿肉。

Tofu Info/FAQ

Everything you need to know about our soy products!

SOY & YOUR HEALTH

Why do people consume tofu and soymilk?

Two of the most common reasons for consuming tofu and soymilk are because of lactose intolerance, and as a protein alternative.

North Americans are becoming increasingly interested in soyfoods – and for good reason. Studies have shown that people in Asian countries (where tofu and soymilk consumption is higher) experience lower rates of breast and prostate cancers, heart disease and osteoporosis; the phytochemicals, or isoflavones, found in soybeans are said to play a role in disease prevention. In addition, menopausal Asian women often have less troubling symptoms than Western women.

Benefits

Nutritional benefits, such as calcium, are also found in this popular dairy and meat substitute. Superior’s Asian Classics tofu line, for example, offers up to 60% of the Recommended Daily Intake (RDI) for calcium. And did you know that one cup of plain Superior Soydrink* contains only 1 gram of fat, 60 calories and 15% (165 mg) of the RDI of calcium? In comparision, the leading national brand’s non-fortified plain soymilk has less than 2% (20 mg) of the RDI in calcium and almost 1/3 more calories and fat! (81 calories and 3.8 grams of fat)

*Canadian-labeling regulations prevents non-dairy products to be called milk on packaging.

Protein Alternative

Tofu is often easier for the body to digest than animal protein, and as a result makes a good source of protein for infants, older adults, and people with digestive problems. As a uniquely high quality source of protein, tofu is inexpensive and provides protein, calcium and iron for the body. While all animal protein has cholesterol, and red meats are high in saturated fats (or bad fats), tofu is relatively low in calories, saturated fats, and sodium, as well as being entirely cholesterol-free. The replacement of animal fats with tofu can be beneficial in the long run, as studies have shown a correlation between the consumption of animal fats and cholesterol with heart disease.

How much soy should I consume if I want to reap its health benefits?

There’s no such thing as a miracle food. Though there is evidence towards soyfoods having possible disease preventing qualities, other factors have to be considered, such as one’s medical history, age, exercise, and general health and diet. As a general guideline, however, the US Food and Drug Administration suggests 17-25 grams of soy protein be consumed daily, along with a low fat diet, to lower blood cholesterol levels and prevent heart disease.

Is it possible to consume too much soy in my diet?

Moderation is the key to everything in life. Just as some people are partially sensitive to milk products and experience bloating and gas after consuming dairy, other individuals may be partially allergic to soy consumed in large amounts. Symptoms are similar to lactose intolerance and will subside if the soy consumption is reduced or cut. You be the judge. Like everything else, go easy at the start.

What kind of soybeans does Superior Tofu use in their soy products?

Superior Tofu only uses top grade, Canadian grown, non-genetically modified soybeans in all of their products. All supplied soybeans come with certification that they are of non-GMO status. We also has an organic line of tofu products, which uses certified organic soybeans and comes with certification from an independent body.

What is that film in my soymilk?

Don’t worry. It is in fact, a nutritional benefit.

Superior Tofu products have always offered the best nutritional benefits among “all natural” soy products on the market. It’s due to our unique craftsmanship and manufacturing processes that we’ve been able to extract the most nutrition from the high quality soybeans we use.

Naturally, we only use Grade A, certified non-GMO, Canadian grown soybeans. The batches of soybeans may vary slightly, and as a result, sometimes the protein when heated at a high temperature during soymilk production, may release a thin film also referred to as soymilk skin. This film appears only randomly in our bottles of regular, low fat and organic soymilks.

The soymilk skin is not only edible but also highly nutritious. Referred to as bean curd, tofu skin or yuba, the by-product of soymilk skin is normally dried into sheets. The dried soymilk skin is commonly used in Chinese and Japanese cuisine such as in dim sum dishes as a wrap or in vegetarian dishes to emulate meat.